Whips/Chains record

Coming soon from Deathwish:


Deathwish are proud to welcome Louisville’s Whips/Chains to our affiliated family. Featuring Ryan Patterson (Coliseum), Ben Sears (Black God), and Will Allard (Xerxes), Whips/Chains play a brand of heavy, apocalyptic music for the trying times we live in. Unpolished and pure, this massive sounding down-tuned three piece takes influence from bands His Hero Is Gone, Bolt Thrower, and others.

Master/Slave is Whips/Chains monstrous debut 12″EP. Taking no time to set a tone, opener “Secular Front” crawls through a wreckage of noise before breaking into a D-Beat stride. Other songs “Brick and Mortar”, “Trembling and Alone”, and “Human Filth” carry this same bombastic quality, but also introduce subtle hooks into the fray. These dynamics make Whips/Chains not only powerful, but also uniquely listenable. Creating a mesmerizing push and pull throughout the grime and fury.”

01. Secular Front
02. Brick and Mortar
03. Trembling and Alone
04. Master/Salve
05. Human Filth

One Trackback

  1. By New Whips/Chains EP | Louisville Music.org on May 26, 2012 at 9:48 am

    [...] at the Bluegrass Castastrophe blog, there’s a short item about the new Whips/Chains 12” EP. Master/Slave, along with reprint of the record [...]

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *