Another new Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy release announced

From our friends at Drag City:

“2012 is shaping up to be a celebratory year for Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy. First there’s Will Oldham on Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – the upcoming book of his reflections on a truly idiosyncratic approach and ethos that have seen him rub shoulders and share stages/recording space with the disparate likes of Johnny Cash, R. Kelly, James Earl Jones and Bjork in a quarter century stretch of fearless artistry. The wonderful Norton-published conversation with long time collaborator and friend Alan Licht illuminates the scope and scale of Bonny’s unique vision, allowing never-before-gleamed insight into the ideas of mystery, intimacy, spontaneity and community that run deep through his formidable canon of work.

Between 1993′s There Is No-One What Will Take Care Of You Palace Brothers debut and last year’s Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy return Wolfroy Goes To Town, Bonny has released no less than seventeen studio albums, twenty five EPs and five live albums. The integrity of his output has remained a constant, and his journey through (and indelible impression on) the storied landscapes of American country, folk, punk and indie-rock is incomparable.

Whether starkly primitive and intensely spare as the Steve Albini-recorded Arise Therefore (1996), rich with haunted grace like I See a Darkness (1999) or swinging with an almost straight-up country lushness on Greatest Palace Music (2004), these albums (along with the no-less revolutionary Joya (1997), Ease Down the Road (2001), and Master and Everyone (2003)) represent a golden era for Bonny as a writer – his powerfully affecting, deeply human meditations on sex, death, isolation and longing achieving a rare universal understanding despite being rooted in a fiercely intimate system of belief.

For less compulsively prolific and relentlessly creative artists it may be tempting to sit back and enjoy such a handsome retrospective at this moment in time but that is plainly not the Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy way. Enter another new release, the Now Here’s My Plan EP – a collection consisting of new versions of Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy classics created for release in accompaniment with the Will Oldham on Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy book. Now Here’s My Plan features members of the Wolfroy Goes To Town band with whom Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy currently tours and records.

Track listing:
I Don’t Belong To Anyone
Beast For Thee
No Gold Digger
After I Made Love To You
I See A Darkness
Three Questions

The Wolfroy players are Ben Boye, Van Campbell, Emmett Kelly, Danny Kiely and Angel Olsen.”

One Trackback

  1. [...] should go straight over to Bluegrass Catastrophe for their two postings on Bonnie “Prince” Billy and Jim James’ new radio show on WFPK on Wednesdays. Lots of background of BPB and video of [...]

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *